GULF COAST WRITERS ASSOCIATION

GCWA Executive Committee Meeting Location: Fairfield Inn Snack Area Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Executive Committee Members attending: Don Cappelli, Bob McCarthy, Geneva Kelly, Irene Smith, Mike Cole, Arlyn Euken. Absent: Sloan Jordan, Geri McArdle. Corporate Board Member attending: Judy Loose. New Board members attending: Gianni Petitti, Al York, Sharmin McKinney, Gwen Brown.

President Don Cappelli called the meeting to order at 4:30.

Minutes - February minutes approved as submitted by substitute secretary, Geri McArdle.

Corporate Board Member - Judy Loose. Election & installation of new officers will be at the upcoming general meeting.

Membership - Irene Smith. 156 present membership. 69 removed from membership this year due to non-payment of dues.

Communication - Geneva Kelly. Continuing to send out meeting & event announcements & looking for new publicity outlets.

Treasurer Report - Mike Cole. Balance of \$8,000 currently. Motion by Irene, seconded by Bob, to accept, approved by all.

Program Report - Bob McCarthy. Speaker program for next several months complete. April program will be contest winners announcements. Discussion concerning out of area speakers. Due to travel expenses, plentiful availability of local writers & speakers, request that we use only these local area speakers. Motion by Irene, seconded by Judy and approved by all .

New Business - Writing Contest: Announcement of contest winners will be at the April general meeting. Entry numbers total 70 plus. Irene will obtain refreshments, called for volunteer assistants. Readings by contest winners will be at the April general meeting. New incoming officers approved: motion by Bob McCarthy, seconded by Irene Smith.

Incoming Executive Committee Board members approved by all.

Website - Acting website manager Judy Loose announced that new manager will be Mike Cole.

Outgoing President Don Cappelli thanked all for their work & cooperation during the past year.

Next Meetings: Executive Committee - April 17. General Meeting - April 21.

Meeting adjourned at 5:32.

Respectfully submitted Arlyn Euken, Secretary.

Nominations for 2018 Executive Committee

President	Irene Smith
Secretary	Arlyn Euken
Treasurer	Gianni Pettini
Programs	Robert McCarthy
Membership	Sharmin McKenny & Gwen Brown
Communications	Geneva Kelly
Special Projects	Sloan Jordan
Website Manager	Michael Cole
Officer-at-Large	Al York