Tim Jordan Releases New Novel

Tim Jordan’s new science fiction novel, GLOW, was published by Angry Robot, a UK publisher but available worldwide on February 23, 2021. It is distributed and available from Penguine Randomhouse, Amazon, Waterstones (UK) and Barnes and Noble (online and locally).

“Reminiscent of the best space opera mixed with the gritty, violent dystopia of cyberpunk. Recommended for fans of Alastair Reynolds and William Gibson.”
– Booklist

“Dynamic prose, cutting-edge science, and thoughtful ruminations on the future of our species – Tim Jordan’s Glow is a terrific read from a major new voice. A first-rate novel; I was enthralled.”
– Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of The Oppenheimer Alternative

“A deftly written debut jewel of cyberpunk; an ode to transcendent humanity. With the immortal angst of Altered Carbon, Glow heralds a capable new voice in the genre.”

– Terry Madden, Award-winning author of the Three Wells of the Sea series

Jordan, Tim — Glow

Glow
by Tim Jordan

A man battles his addiction to a devastating nanotech drug that steals identities and threatens the survival and succession of mankind as a galactic species.

After the Nova-Insanity shattered Earth’s civilization, the Genes and Fullerenes Corporation promised to bring humanity back from the brink. Many years later, various factions have formed, challenging their savior and vying for a share of power and control.

Glow follows the lives of three very different beings, all wrestling mental instability in various forms; Rex – a confused junkie battling multiple voices in his head; Ellayna – the founder of the GFC living on an orbital satellite station and struggling with paranoia; and Jett – a virtually unstoppable robotic assassin, questioning his purpose of creation.

All of them are inextricably linked through the capricious and volatile Glow; an all controlling nano-tech drug that has the ability to live on through multiple hosts, cutting and pasting memories and personas in each new victim.

In this tech-crazed world where nothing seems impossible, many questions are posed: what makes us who we are? What is our ultimate purpose and place in this world? And, most frightening of all, what are we capable of doing to survive?

Publisher’s site for GLOW

Purchase at Amazon

Tim Jordan

Tim JordanTim Jordan grew up in Essex, England, surrounded by a loving family where science and fantasy were always part of their evenings and games. His passion for fantasy and fossils led to an early love of Tolkien and a childhood spent with his head stuck firmly in the clouds, inventing stories and fantastical worlds.

Physically, Tim is now an adult living in Florida with his wonderful wife, but he remains an avid science fiction fan and futurologist who explores transhumanism through the lens of science and fantasy. When not working or writing, Tim enjoys playing the guitar, building robots and creating artificially intelligent computer programs.

His debut novel, Glow, is the result of what happens when you toss a deep love of dogs and a fascination with robots into the blender of an overactive imagination.

www.timothy-jordan.com

Tim’s books

 

GCWA March 2021 Meeting

March Zoom Meeting — Registration to follow

D.L. Havlin

Speaker: D. L. Havlin
Topic: Open Minds — Open Books

March 20, 2021, 10:00 a.m. to noon
Zoom meeting

DL Havlin is an eclectic author whose novels, novellas, and short stories mirror his rich, varied background. He has packed three lifetimes of experiences into one brim full existence. He believes, “The one big advantage writing at an advanced age provides is that life is what you know and not what you project it might be.”

www.DLHavlin.com

Past Speakers

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference 2021 registration is now open!

WD annual conference

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference 2021 registration is now open! 

The Writer’s Digest Annual ConferenceJuly 22 – 25, 2021 in New York City—is your chance to acknowledge the importance of writing in your life. And whether writing is your passion or profession, a trip to the conference is a perfect—and purposeful—affirmation of your goals as you begin the New Year. 

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference is hopeful we will be able to meet in-person this July. There is still a lot of COVID-related uncertainty in 2021 and WD wants to take the proper steps to ensure all of our speakers, attendees, exhibitors, and staff are as safe as possible. In addition to planning a virtual back-up plan, we will extend the same flexible cancellation policy for 2021 as we did in 2020, allowing attendees to cancel, if needed, once they’ve registered for a full refund. We are monitoring vaccination rates and state/federal travel guidelines very closely and will post updates on our website and via email. 

Until then, registration is now open and we are working on some exciting programming for 2021! Be on the lookout for announcements starting in February and in the months to followRegister today for the best price. 

 

WD Self-Published Book Awards

Publish Your Book, Enter Our Competition, Launch Your Career.

ENTER NOW!  Writer’s Digest’s Self-Published Book Awards is currently accepting submissions. This is the only Writer’s Digest competition exclusively for self-published books.

DEADLINE: APRIL 1, 2021

Whether you’re a professional writer, a part-time freelancer or a self-starting student, here’s your chance to enter the premier self-published competition exclusively for self-published books. Writer’s Digest hosts the 29th annual self-published competition—the Annual Self-Published Book Awards. This self-published competition spotlights today’s self-published works and honors self-published authors.

Writer’s Digest Competition

writing competition

Writer’s Digest has been shining a spotlight on up and coming writers in all genres through its Annual Writing Competition for 90 years. Enter our 90th Annual Writing Competition for your chance to win and have your work be seen by editors and agents! Almost 500 winners will be chosen.

Click here to SUBMIT

LEARN MORE

New York Book Festival

new york book festivalThe 2021 New York Book Festival has issued a call for entries to its annual program celebrating books that deserve greater recognition from the world’s publishing capital.

The 2021 New York Book Festival will consider published, self-published and independent publisher non-fiction, fiction, children’s books, young adult, how-to, poetry, wild card (anything goes!), unpublished stories, science fiction/horror, photography/art, spiritual, business, romance, cookbooks,, compilations/anthologies and biography/autobiography works.

A panel of judges will determine the winners based on the following criteria:

  1. The story-telling ability of the author.
  2. The potential of the work to win wider recognition.

Entries can be in English, Spanish, French or Italian and must be published on or after January 1, 2017. Our grand prize for the 2021 New York Book Festival Author of the Year is a $1,500 appearance fee for our annual awards program.

Deadline: June 25, 2021

More information