Dream Quest One Poetry & Writing Contest WINTER 2021 – 2022

The postmark deadline is March 31, 2022

The Winter 2021 -2022 contest is accepting verse and prose entries at this time. The new contest deadline is March 31, 2022. Enter Now! for a chance to win cash prizes totaling $1275.00! Keep writing, creating, and achieving attainable goals, while working toward making your dreams a reality.

More information


Chanticleer Book Reviews Logo

Multiple Contests from
Chanticleer Book Reviews

The Clue Awards — Thriller/suspense
Deadline September 30, 2021

The 2021 CIBA Fiction Series Awards! 16 Divisions
Deadline October 31, 2021

The 2021 CIBA Short Stories, Novelettas, and Novellas
Deadline December 31, 2021

Mystery and Mayhem — Cozy and Not-So-Cozy Mystery Book Awards 
Deadline April 30, 2022

Historical Fiction — Americana, Early, Late
Deadline July 31, 2022

london book festivalThe 2022 London Book Festival has issued a call for entries for its annual program celebrating the best of international publishing.

The London Book Festival will consider books in English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese and Italian in the competition. The works may be published, self-published or independent publisher non-fiction, fiction, biography/autobiography/memoir, children’s books, cookbooks, compilations/anthologies, genre-based, how-to, photography/art, spiritual, young adult, unpublished, business, wild card (anything goes!), science fiction, and poetry.

Submitted works will be judged by a panel of industry experts using the following criteria:

1) General excellence and the author’s passion for telling a good story.
2) The potential of the work to reach a wider audience.

Deadline: January 25, 2022

More information

Indignor HouseIndignor House Publishing is proud to introduce the start of our annual writing competition (INDIGNOR PLAYHOUSE Short Story Annual Competition) with the first award and publication in August of 2022. Submissions will be accepted starting September 1st of each previous year and closing on March 31st of the publication year. Up to 25 submissions will be accepted for inclusion in the annual book publication. Book format will be in three media formats (hardback with jacket, softback, and e-book).

Every year, a theme will be announced in June for the next year’s competition. The 2022-year theme is RESENTMENT and short stories can be of any genre. Maximum word count for short stories is up to 5,000 words.

Cost for submission is $15.00 to cover administrative and production costs. Three levels of award – First Place – $500, Second Place – $250, and Third Place – $150. A ribbon medal and book publication is included. Each awardee will receive a complementary hardback copy, and the others chosen for publication will receive a softback. Books will be available through standard book distribution via Ingram Distribution for online and bookstores purchase.

We will be responding to each submittal with a critique.

More information on Flyer

Next Generation Indie Book Awards

Early Bird Special! 2022 Next Generation Indie Book Awards Call for Entries – Over $10,000 in Monetary prizes, +80 categories.

Next Generation Book Awards

Early Bird Discount $75 – Call for Entries: 2022 Next Generation Indie Book Awards

If you would like to receive greater recognition, monetary prizes, awards and exposure for your books, here is an opportunity not to miss. Enter the 2022 Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

Calling all indie book authors and publishers – including small presses, mid-size independent publishers, university presses, e-book publishers, and self-published authors who have a book written in English released in 2020, 2021 or 2022 or with a 2020, 2021 or 2022 copyright date to enter the most rewarding book awards program.

Take advantage of this offer and enter by September 30, 2021 and receive the second category for free! Final Deadline: February 11, 2022

Details here

The Bedford Competition — UK

The Bedford Competition

Let your talent flow and compete with authors from around the world! We invite you to submit stories up to 3000 words and poems up to 40 lines long.

1st Prize £1000
2nd Prize £200
3rd Prize £100

The Bedford Writer’s Competition is a non profit group. All net proceeds will go to Schoolreaders, Bedford, a charity giving free one-to-one reading support to children, and The King’s Arms Homeless Project.

Competition opens 1st May and closes 31st October 2021.
The standard entry fee is £7.50 per story or poem.

To enter visit our website: http://www.bedfordwritingcompetition.co.uk/

The Bedford Competition Flyer

Northern Lights Book Awards

northern lights

A Mark of Distinction

Honoring Children’s Literature of Exceptional Merit

The Northern Lights Book Awards considers children’s books to be an art form and honors books that excel in aesthetic and literary qualities with an emphasis on permanency. We are seeking works that will leave a lasting impression, ones which will resonate with the reader not only now but in years to come.

Entries must be postmarked no later than October 15, 2021.

Guidelines and more information

GCWA Contest Winners


GCWA 2021 Writing Contest Winners

Children’s Stories
1st — K.J. (Kathy) Boyd — Too Many Kids
2nd — Mariah Julio — Where is Everything?
3rd — Nancy Leake — Sammy Snail’s Wild Ride

1st — Vic Larson — Drafted
2nd — Carol Light — A Tough Nut to Crack
3rd — Pat McAnulty — The White Side of Aurora

1st — Jeanne Meeks — Ode to Otis
2nd — Geneva Kelly — Ready or Not
3rd — Alina Steele — Mrs. Murphy

1st — Jeannette Batko — Critique-Mystique
2nd — Maya Fleischmann — Patience Stillwater’s Sestina
3rd — Teresa Falsani — A Single Dolphin

Youth Category
Poetry — Christopher Kozlowski — Silencing the Star of David
Fiction — Samadhi Salazar — The Mother of All Natures
Nonfiction — Nishini Fernando — The Wicked Wall of Water