Vee Byram

vee byram
.
V. Z. Byram was born in a displaced persons camp in post World War II Germany of Latvian parents. They immigrated to the USA when she was three. She received her MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College, has won numerous writing awards, taught literature and writing as an adjunct professor and is a past president of the Philadelphia Writers Conference. Song of Latvia is her first novel.
Visit her at vzbyram.com

 

 

Tim Jordan Releases New Novel

Tim Jordan’s new science fiction novel, GLOW, was published by Angry Robot, a UK publisher but available worldwide on February 23, 2021. It is distributed and available from Penguine Randomhouse, Amazon, Waterstones (UK) and Barnes and Noble (online and locally).

“Reminiscent of the best space opera mixed with the gritty, violent dystopia of cyberpunk. Recommended for fans of Alastair Reynolds and William Gibson.”
– Booklist

“Dynamic prose, cutting-edge science, and thoughtful ruminations on the future of our species – Tim Jordan’s Glow is a terrific read from a major new voice. A first-rate novel; I was enthralled.”
– Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of The Oppenheimer Alternative

“A deftly written debut jewel of cyberpunk; an ode to transcendent humanity. With the immortal angst of Altered Carbon, Glow heralds a capable new voice in the genre.”

– Terry Madden, Award-winning author of the Three Wells of the Sea series

Jordan, Tim — Glow

Glow
by Tim Jordan

A man battles his addiction to a devastating nanotech drug that steals identities and threatens the survival and succession of mankind as a galactic species.

After the Nova-Insanity shattered Earth’s civilization, the Genes and Fullerenes Corporation promised to bring humanity back from the brink. Many years later, various factions have formed, challenging their savior and vying for a share of power and control.

Glow follows the lives of three very different beings, all wrestling mental instability in various forms; Rex – a confused junkie battling multiple voices in his head; Ellayna – the founder of the GFC living on an orbital satellite station and struggling with paranoia; and Jett – a virtually unstoppable robotic assassin, questioning his purpose of creation.

All of them are inextricably linked through the capricious and volatile Glow; an all controlling nano-tech drug that has the ability to live on through multiple hosts, cutting and pasting memories and personas in each new victim.

In this tech-crazed world where nothing seems impossible, many questions are posed: what makes us who we are? What is our ultimate purpose and place in this world? And, most frightening of all, what are we capable of doing to survive?

Publisher’s site for GLOW

Purchase at Amazon

Tim Jordan

Tim JordanTim Jordan grew up in Essex, England, surrounded by a loving family where science and fantasy were always part of their evenings and games. His passion for fantasy and fossils led to an early love of Tolkien and a childhood spent with his head stuck firmly in the clouds, inventing stories and fantastical worlds.

Physically, Tim is now an adult living in Florida with his wonderful wife, but he remains an avid science fiction fan and futurologist who explores transhumanism through the lens of science and fantasy. When not working or writing, Tim enjoys playing the guitar, building robots and creating artificially intelligent computer programs.

His debut novel, Glow, is the result of what happens when you toss a deep love of dogs and a fascination with robots into the blender of an overactive imagination.

www.timothy-jordan.com

Tim’s books

 

GCWA March 2021 Meeting

March Zoom Meeting 

D.L. Havlin

Speaker: D. L. Havlin
Topic: Building a Platform for Both Non-fiction and Fiction Authors

March 20, 2021, 10:00 a.m. to noon
Zoom meeting

What’s a writing platform? It’s not built on the top of telephone poles, but it is a requisite for non-fiction authors and a valuable addition to the fiction writers marketing arsenal. This class deals with the way to build one, a legitimate one, in the field which you wish to write. Is a doctorate necessary? No, but a real, thorough, and defensible knowledge of your subject matter is critical. Ways to construct that “pulpit to preach from” are offered in this class.

DL Havlin is an unretired businessman who has traveled a large portion of the world, having visited over 100 countries.  He managed offices in places like London, Singapore, Frankfort, Acala Spain and many more.  He has visited the jungles on the Sepic River in New Guinea, the Buddhist temples in Bangkok and the Babi Yar Monument in Kiev. In his travels he has discovered that humans have very similar appearances but their cultures make them as distinct as visitors from another planet.

He’s been writing 30+ years. DL writes historical, literary, women’s mainstream, and suspense/mystery novels.  He has ten books published. The latest is Escaping Skeletons, a mystery/suspense series.

www.DLHavlin.com

Past Speakers

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference 2021 registration is now open!

WD annual conference

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference 2021 registration is now open! 

The Writer’s Digest Annual ConferenceJuly 22 – 25, 2021 in New York City—is your chance to acknowledge the importance of writing in your life. And whether writing is your passion or profession, a trip to the conference is a perfect—and purposeful—affirmation of your goals as you begin the New Year. 

Writer’s Digest Annual Conference is hopeful we will be able to meet in-person this July. There is still a lot of COVID-related uncertainty in 2021 and WD wants to take the proper steps to ensure all of our speakers, attendees, exhibitors, and staff are as safe as possible. In addition to planning a virtual back-up plan, we will extend the same flexible cancellation policy for 2021 as we did in 2020, allowing attendees to cancel, if needed, once they’ve registered for a full refund. We are monitoring vaccination rates and state/federal travel guidelines very closely and will post updates on our website and via email. 

Until then, registration is now open and we are working on some exciting programming for 2021! Be on the lookout for announcements starting in February and in the months to followRegister today for the best price. 

 

New York Book Festival

new york book festivalThe 2021 New York Book Festival has issued a call for entries to its annual program celebrating books that deserve greater recognition from the world’s publishing capital.

The 2021 New York Book Festival will consider published, self-published and independent publisher non-fiction, fiction, children’s books, young adult, how-to, poetry, wild card (anything goes!), unpublished stories, science fiction/horror, photography/art, spiritual, business, romance, cookbooks,, compilations/anthologies and biography/autobiography works.

A panel of judges will determine the winners based on the following criteria:

  1. The story-telling ability of the author.
  2. The potential of the work to win wider recognition.

Entries can be in English, Spanish, French or Italian and must be published on or after January 1, 2017. Our grand prize for the 2021 New York Book Festival Author of the Year is a $1,500 appearance fee for our annual awards program.

Deadline: June 25, 2021

More information

Hindsight — Stories About 2020

hindsightWhat’s your 2020 story?

Hindsight is a collection of stories about 2020, written by people just like you. We’re seeking nonfiction stories from around the world that capture what it was like to wake up every day to a new normal — whether that means navigating emergencies as a first responder or tying the knot over Zoom. We’re particularly interested in material that gets up close and personal with the struggles of 2020, rather than headlines or commentary on current events.

Hindsight is an independent, one-time publication. Content will be made available in two forms: Some stories will be shared on our website; the very best submissions will be compiled into a print anthology, which will be published in 2021.

Submission fee: None

Length: Up to 2,000 words

Deadline: Rolling

Compensation: Writers whose work is selected for the print anthology will receive a complimentary hard copy of the book, as well as a digital file.

To learn more, please visit our website: www.hindsightbook2020.com.