Tim Jordan Releases New Novel

Tim Jordan’s new science fiction novel, GLOW, was published by Angry Robot, a UK publisher but available worldwide on February 23, 2021. It is distributed and available from Penguine Randomhouse, Amazon, Waterstones (UK) and Barnes and Noble (online and locally).

“Reminiscent of the best space opera mixed with the gritty, violent dystopia of cyberpunk. Recommended for fans of Alastair Reynolds and William Gibson.”
– Booklist

“Dynamic prose, cutting-edge science, and thoughtful ruminations on the future of our species – Tim Jordan’s Glow is a terrific read from a major new voice. A first-rate novel; I was enthralled.”
– Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of The Oppenheimer Alternative

“A deftly written debut jewel of cyberpunk; an ode to transcendent humanity. With the immortal angst of Altered Carbon, Glow heralds a capable new voice in the genre.”

– Terry Madden, Award-winning author of the Three Wells of the Sea series

Jordan, Tim — Glow

Glow
by Tim Jordan

A man battles his addiction to a devastating nanotech drug that steals identities and threatens the survival and succession of mankind as a galactic species.

After the Nova-Insanity shattered Earth’s civilization, the Genes and Fullerenes Corporation promised to bring humanity back from the brink. Many years later, various factions have formed, challenging their savior and vying for a share of power and control.

Glow follows the lives of three very different beings, all wrestling mental instability in various forms; Rex – a confused junkie battling multiple voices in his head; Ellayna – the founder of the GFC living on an orbital satellite station and struggling with paranoia; and Jett – a virtually unstoppable robotic assassin, questioning his purpose of creation.

All of them are inextricably linked through the capricious and volatile Glow; an all controlling nano-tech drug that has the ability to live on through multiple hosts, cutting and pasting memories and personas in each new victim.

In this tech-crazed world where nothing seems impossible, many questions are posed: what makes us who we are? What is our ultimate purpose and place in this world? And, most frightening of all, what are we capable of doing to survive?

Publisher’s site for GLOW

Purchase at Amazon

Tim Jordan

Tim JordanTim Jordan grew up in Essex, England, surrounded by a loving family where science and fantasy were always part of their evenings and games. His passion for fantasy and fossils led to an early love of Tolkien and a childhood spent with his head stuck firmly in the clouds, inventing stories and fantastical worlds.

Physically, Tim is now an adult living in Florida with his wonderful wife, but he remains an avid science fiction fan and futurologist who explores transhumanism through the lens of science and fantasy. When not working or writing, Tim enjoys playing the guitar, building robots and creating artificially intelligent computer programs.

His debut novel, Glow, is the result of what happens when you toss a deep love of dogs and a fascination with robots into the blender of an overactive imagination.

www.timothy-jordan.com

Tim’s books

 

GCWA March 2021 Meeting

March Zoom Meeting 

D.L. Havlin

Speaker: D. L. Havlin
Topic: Building a Platform for Both Non-fiction and Fiction Authors

March 20, 2021, 10:00 a.m. to noon
Zoom meeting

What’s a writing platform? It’s not built on the top of telephone poles, but it is a requisite for non-fiction authors and a valuable addition to the fiction writers marketing arsenal. This class deals with the way to build one, a legitimate one, in the field which you wish to write. Is a doctorate necessary? No, but a real, thorough, and defensible knowledge of your subject matter is critical. Ways to construct that “pulpit to preach from” are offered in this class.

DL Havlin is an unretired businessman who has traveled a large portion of the world, having visited over 100 countries.  He managed offices in places like London, Singapore, Frankfort, Acala Spain and many more.  He has visited the jungles on the Sepic River in New Guinea, the Buddhist temples in Bangkok and the Babi Yar Monument in Kiev. In his travels he has discovered that humans have very similar appearances but their cultures make them as distinct as visitors from another planet.

He’s been writing 30+ years. DL writes historical, literary, women’s mainstream, and suspense/mystery novels.  He has ten books published. The latest is Escaping Skeletons, a mystery/suspense series.

www.DLHavlin.com

Past Speakers

Hindsight — Stories About 2020

hindsightWhat’s your 2020 story?

Hindsight is a collection of stories about 2020, written by people just like you. We’re seeking nonfiction stories from around the world that capture what it was like to wake up every day to a new normal — whether that means navigating emergencies as a first responder or tying the knot over Zoom. We’re particularly interested in material that gets up close and personal with the struggles of 2020, rather than headlines or commentary on current events.

Hindsight is an independent, one-time publication. Content will be made available in two forms: Some stories will be shared on our website; the very best submissions will be compiled into a print anthology, which will be published in 2021.

Submission fee: None

Length: Up to 2,000 words

Deadline: Rolling

Compensation: Writers whose work is selected for the print anthology will receive a complimentary hard copy of the book, as well as a digital file.

To learn more, please visit our website: www.hindsightbook2020.com.

The Little Dusties: The Roar of the Silver Dragon
by Bridges DelPonte

little dustiesSnore. Tutu. Lefty. Mouse. Woof. The Little Dusties. These teeny little dust buddies live everywhere in a home, but no one knows they are there—except Ocho, the family’s sheep dog. In The Roar of the Silver Dragon, these tiny dust balls play all day and night, except for one day a week—Cleaning Day! On Saturday, the Little Dusties hide in Tutu’s closet to avoid the dreaded Silver Dragon that roars and scoops up all of the household dust. When the Silver Dragon makes a surprising appearance on a gray Thursday, the Little Dusties must work as a team to save Snore who got vacuumed up while napping. With Ocho’s help, the Little Dusties rally together and rescue Snore from the next morning’s trash pickup. This lovely picture book, aimed at ages 4-8, presents themes of friendship, teamwork and concern for others. Each teeny little dust ball has its own special qualities and whimsical illustrations to delight children of all backgrounds.

Purchase at Amazon

DelPonte — Bridles of Poseidon

Bridles of Poseidon
by Bridges DelPonte

The last descendant of a dying race of deep ocean shape-shifters. A renegade Key West dive boat captain with a sketchy past. A reclusive billionaire with dark ties to undersea rebel forces. The imminent threat of another cataclysmic Great Flood. Aquan, a fearless Triton, uses her unique power to transform into real and mythical sea creatures to police the boundaries of land and sea from rebel forces. When her fellow Tritons are savagely massacred on the eve of her first mating season, Aquan reluctantly teams up with Key West dive boat captain, Dave Cutter and marine biologist, Jen Ortiz, in a world-wide adventure across the lost sister cities of Atlantis. In Bridles of Poseidon, Aquan must not only unlock her true power, but confront disturbing revelations about the deaths of her parents and dangerous political intrigue in her once-peaceful society at Rapture’s End. Ultimately, this young Triton faces a terrible choice between preventing another Great Deluge or destroying the future survival of her own underwater community, now torn apart by discord and treachery. This contemporary action fantasy is set in exotic locales as the first installment in a Last Emissary series of books. Bridles of Poseidon was also a 2012 finalist for the Royal Palm Literary Award (unpublished fantasy) of the Florida Writers Association. Rebooting standard myths about shape-shifters, this modern adventure fantasy will attract readers who enjoy strong heroines and who will be intrigued by her shifting identities, genders, races, and species—real and mythical.

Purchase at Amazon

Deadly Sacrifices: A Marguerite Montez Mystery
by Bridges DelPonte

You always remember your first time….Monty’s first happened in St. Stephen’s church, directly beneath a statue of the Virgin Mary, right after morning mass. A local soccer mom is bludgeoned to death in her suburban parish chapel outside of Boston. In her first homicide case, prosecutor Marguerite “Monty” Montez endangers her life digging up evidence that shows police nabbed the wrong man. Moonlighting as a Portuguese fados (blues) singer, Monty’s investigation also uncovers disturbing memories and fresh leads in an unsolved murder of her childhood friend in her close-knit Portuguese community.  Her dauntless search for the real killer is a wild thrill ride into a dangerous world of lethal secrets. Action, humor and romance collide in this first book in a new Marguerite Montez mystery series.

Purchase at Amazon