Executive Committee Meeting Minutes 01 14 2020 Gulf Coast Writers Association Executive Committee Meeting Location: Fairfield Inn Snack Area Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Executive Committee Members attending: Irene Smith (President), Tina McNeice (Corporate Board), Judy Loose (Website Manager), David Aiken (Membership), Bob McCarthy (programs), Michael Cole (Treasurer), Jan Nieman (Corporate Board), Patricia Wentling (Special Projects), Wilson Hawthorne (Secretary). Members absent: Gwen Brown (Officer at Large), Laura Nonemaker (Co-chair), Geneva Kelly (Communications), Susan Grunin (Special Projects)

Meeting:

Irene called the meeting to order at 5:00pm. No minutes from last meeting were found.

Wilson Hawthorne appointed by Irene as new Secretary, and Gwen Brown as Officer-at-Large.

Programs Report: Bob McCarthy asked if anyone has ideas about speakers to let him know.

Special Projects Report: Patricia Wentling said submissions for the upcoming writing contest are going well. The Observer on the Beach is putting GCWA contest in print. The Ft Myers Beach Library wants to advertise the contest as well.

Membership Report: David Aiken said GCWA has 6 new members since last report. November GCWA meeting had 55 in attendance. Updated roster just sent out.

Corporate Report: Jan said there was nothing to talk about. But, she said she had a banner to return in her car.

Treasury Report: Michael Cole said he emailed the Nov/Dec report. It was very simple. In November there was \$175 in revenue, all from new members except \$5. Expenses were \$292 (Paypal fees, web services, writing contest costs, speaker's fee). Bank balance \$6474.02 at the end of November. In December there was \$160 in revenue from new members and \$179.72 (web services, Paypal fees) Bank balance December 31 was \$6454.00.

Treasury report for November/December was then motioned to be accepted by Judy Loose and seconded by Patricia Wentling.

Irene asked for any new business. It was decided that the executive committee would stand at the next GCWA meeting so everyone would know who the members are.

A motion was made by Bob McCarthy and seconded by David Aiken to adjourn the meeting at 5:25pm. Unanimous vote. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

H. Wilson Hawthorne Secretary