Speaker: Lucille Ponte
Copyright or Copy Wrong?
The Basics of Copyright for Authors

Date Changed to: June 26, 2021, 10:00 a.m. to noon
In-Person & Zoom Meeting — Register for Zoom here

New Location: Fairfield Inn
7090 Cypress Terrace
Fort Myers, FL 33907

What are my rights to my creative works as an author? Can people use the contents of my books and stories without my permission? Are there limits on my uses of another’s creative works in my books? In this educational talk, author and former law professor Lucille Ponte will help unravel the mysteries of the basics of copyright and address issues of copyright registration and infringement of creative works.  Her presentation will also consider key defenses to claims of copyright infringement, such as public domain and fair use. A great opportunity to learn more about protecting your rights to your literary works. (for educational purposes only, not intended as legal advice)

A legal educator for more than 31 years, Lucille Ponte taught a wide range of business law and intellectual property courses. She published textbooks on dispute resolution and contract law and wrote scholarly articles on copyright, trademark, and legal policy. She previously served as in-house counsel for technology firms and governmental agencies in Massachusetts. As a fiction author under the pen name Bridges DelPonte, her legal mystery, Deadly Sacrifices won a Royal Palm Literary Award (2d place – unpublished mystery) from the Florida Writers Association. She has also published an underwater fantasy novel, Bridles of Poseidon, a children’s book, The Little Dusties – The Roar of the Silver Dragon (with illustrator, Michelle Bakay), and numerous short stories in anthologies. She is represented by Kelli Martin at Wendy Sherman Associates, Inc., a literary management firm in New York. To learn more about Bridges, check out her author website: bridgesdelponte.com

Keynote Speaker for FAPAcon

Steve Berry


Don’t forget that Steve Berry will be the Keynote Speaker at this year’s FAPA Annual Conference in Orlando. He is the New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of 20 novels. To learn more about Steve Berry, go to https://steveberry.org  Steve will speak at 11:45 am on July 31, 2021, at the FAPAcon2021 conference at the Hilton Orlando Buena Vista Palace.

1:00 PM Workshop speakers are:
Brenda M. Spalding will present “Choice for the Independent Author.” She is a prolific author with children’s books and several adult novels. She has won awards from the Florida Authors and Publishers Association and the National League of American Pen Women.

Michael L. Joy brings us “Catching an agent’s attention 101”. He a board member of the Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, where he is the co-chair of their annual mystery writing conference, SleuthFest. (SleuthFest.com).

Check back next month to see more workshop speakers!

To register for the conference, go to https://myfapa.org/fapacon2021/.
Members: Log in to get your discount!
Masks are still required in public areas of the hotel. This may change and if so, we will notify you.         

Call for Submissions

Call for Submissions
June Open Reading Period: June 1 – June 30

Black Lawrence Press seeks innovative, electrifying, and thoroughly intoxicating manuscripts that ensnare themselves in our hearts and minds and won’t let go. During our June and November Open Reading Periods, we accept submissions in the following categories: novel, novella, short story collection (full-length and chapbook), poetry (full-length and chapbook), biography & cultural studies, translation (from the German), and creative nonfiction. We are now also accepting proposals for anthologies.

Black Lawrence Press accepts submissions exclusively through our online submission manager, Submittable. We are not able to accept submissions via email or postal mail.

Submissions are now open.

Submit here

first chapters2021 First Chapters Contest is OPEN

Our First Chapters Contest is back! Open through June 30, 2021 to the first 5,000 words of unpublished book-length adult literary fiction.

Guest Judge Masie Cochran of Tin House will select three winning excerpts for publication, with $2,800 awarded. Additional awards include manuscript review by The Artful Editor to the grand-prize winner, and a query letter workshop with Ladderbird Literary Agency to the winner and two runners-up.

Learn More

2021 Fabula Press Short Story Contest Rules
Sponsor: This short story contest (“the Contest”) is sponsored by Fabula Press (www.pressfabula.com – “the website”), referred to as the ‘sponsor’ hereafter.

Eligibility: The Contest is open to all writers 18 years old or above. There is no limit to the number of entries per person, but this is not bingo, and more submissions do not necessarily translate into higher chances of winning.

Contest Prizes: Apart from publication of long listed authors in an anthology, a total of three prizes will be awarded as below.

First Prize: US$500
Second Prize: US$250
Third Prize: US$150

All other longlisted authors selected for publication in the short story contest anthology shall be paid an honorarium of US$75 each

Simultaneous submissions: Allowed, but authors must let us know if the story is accepted elsewhere before our results are announced.

Entry fee: US$10. Multiple submissions are allowed, but every entry must be accompanied by the entry fee.

Contest and Judging Criteria:
Entries for the summer (Aestas anthology) competition are being accepted now, upto 11:59 p.m. (GMT) of 31 July 2021. Submissions should be through the Duosuma Submissions Manager tool on the website. Submission dates for the winter (Nivalis anthology) competition will be announced around October 2021.

More submission criteria

Critique Group Request



GCWA Contest Winners


GCWA 2021 Writing Contest Winners

Children’s Stories
1st — K.J. (Kathy) Boyd — Too Many Kids
2nd — Mariah Julio — Where is Everything?
3rd — Nancy Leake — Sammy Snail’s Wild Ride

1st — Vic Larson — Drafted
2nd — Carol Light — A Tough Nut to Crack
3rd — Pat McAnulty — The White Side of Aurora

1st — Jeanne Meeks — Ode to Otis
2nd — Geneva Kelly — Ready or Not
3rd — Alina Steele — Mrs. Murphy

1st — Jeannette Batko — Critique-Mystique
2nd — Maya Fleischmann — Patience Stillwater’s Sestina
3rd — Teresa Falsani — A Single Dolphin

Youth Category
Poetry — Christopher Kozlowski — Silencing the Star of David
Fiction — Samadhi Salazar — The Mother of All Natures
Nonfiction — Nishini Fernando — The Wicked Wall of Water